Strickland for Senate Announces Endorsements of 29 NE Ohio Leaders

COLUMBUS, OH — Today the Ted Strickland for Senate Campaign announced that former Governor Strickland has earned the endorsement of 29 Northeast Ohio leaders.
“Former Governor Ted Strickland never backs down when it comes to fighting for Ohio’s working families — he is a proven champion for the middle class and he's exactly the kind of leader we need in the U.S. Senate,” said State Representative Martin J. Sweeney. “Northeast Ohio is Strickland country: everyone here remembers how Ted had our backs when it came to securing the auto-rescue that saved thousands of jobs, he’s opposed every bad trade deal that jeopardized our economy, and he truly understands the struggles that face Ohioans who work for living. He is the only candidate who can beat Senator Portman and ensure that Ohio’s working people have a true voice in Washington. I am proud to endorse his campaign and look forward to doing all I can to support him on the trail.”
“I’m honored to receive the support of so many leaders from across Northeast Ohio who share my commitment to fighting for Ohio’s working people,” said former Governor Ted Strickland. “The reason Ohioans are fed up with Washington is because politicians like Senator Portman are pushing the interests of the D.C. establishment and the wealthy special interests they serve while the middle class is getting squeezed. Whether the issue is fair wages for workers, making higher education affordable for students or protecting retirement security for seniors, I’m running for the U.S. Senate to stand up for working people — that’s where I come from, and those are the folks that I care about.”
The Strickland campaign previously announced endorsements from Northeast Ohio U.S. Representatives Tim Ryan and Marcia Fudge. The list of leaders includes:
  • State Sen. Capri Cafaro
  • State Sen. Joe Schiavoni
  • State Sen. Kenny Yuko
  • State Rep. Janine Boyd
  • State Rep. Nickie Antonio
  • State Rep. John Boccieri
  • State Rep. Nick Celebrezze
  • State Rep. Kathleen Clyde
  • State Rep. Michele Lepore-Hagan
  • State Rep. Kent Smith
  • State Rep. Martin J. Sweeney
  • Mahoning County Commissioner David C. Ditzler
  • Mahoning County Commissioner Carol Rimedio-Righetti
  • Mahoning County Commissioner Anthony Traficanti
  • Mahoning County Democratic Party Chair David Betras
  • Mahoning County Clerk of Courts Anthony Vivo
  • Mahoning County Treasurer Daniel R. Yemma
  • Mahoning County Prosecutor Paul J. Gaines
  • Parma Mayor Tim DeGeeter
  • Warren Mayor Doug Franklin
  • Warrensville Heights Mayor Brad Sellers
  • Geauga County Democratic Party Chair Janet Carson
  • Ashtabula County Democratic Party Chair Duane Feher
  • Portage County Democratic Party Chair Craig Stephens
  • Lorain County Auditor Craig Snodgrass
  • Lorain County Commissioner Matt Lundy
  • Lorain County Clerk of Courts Tom Orlando
  • Lorain City Councilman Joe Koziura
  • Amherst Councilman Joe Miller
Strickland has also earned endorsements from: President Bill Clinton; U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown; Ohio U.S. Representative Joyce Beatty; The United Auto Workers; The AFL-CIO; The Ohio State Council of Machinists; The Ohio College Democrats; The Ohio Education Association; District 6 Painters and Allied Trades; the Communications Workers of America District 4;; Senator Elizabeth Warren; The Franklin County Democratic Party; The Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee and the Ohio Democratic Party.

Join Team Ted