Fmr. Governor Strickland Earns Endorsement of Transport Workers Union, Ohio-Michigan State Conference

COLUMBUS, OH — Today the Ted Strickland for Senate Campaign announced that former Governor Strickland has earned the endorsement of The Transport Workers Union, Ohio-Michigan State Conference.
The Transport Workers Union, AFL-CIO (TWU) represents workers in the public transportation, aviation, railroad, university, utility, services and gaming sectors. In Ohio, TWU members work for Akron Metro RTA, American Airlines, Central Ohio Transit Authority, CSX Railroad, Envoy Air, Mainstream, Norfolk Southern Railroad, and Southwest Airlines.
“Former Governor Ted Strickland has and always will be a champion for Ohio’s working people — we need him in the U.S. Senate fighting for us,” said Delisa Brown, chair of the Transport Workers Union state conference. “He has a deep understanding of the issues and policy areas impacting transportation workers, and we know he’ll stand up for the interests of Ohioans who work for a living because those are the people he cares about. We are proud to endorse Ted and look forward to doing all we can to support his campaign.”
“The working people in our transportation industries help power America’s economy at every level and I am honored to have earned their endorsement,” said former Governor Ted Strickland. “As these workers know, strong and well-functioning transportation systems are closely linked to America's economic success, which is why one of my most important priorities will be to rebuild and expand our roads, bridges and transportation infrastructure — creating the kind of good-paying jobs we badly need in communities across Ohio while laying the groundwork for our country’s long-term future growth. I will always put the interests of Ohio’s working people first because that’s where I’m from, and in the U.S. Senate those are the people I’ll fight for.”
Strickland has earned endorsements from: President Bill Clinton; U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown; Ohio U.S. Representatives Joyce Beatty, Tim Ryan and Marcia Fudge; The United Auto Workers; The AFL-CIO; The Ohio State Council of Machinists; The Ohio College Democrats; The Ohio Education Association; The Tri County Regional Labor Council; The Painters and Allied Trades District Council 6; the Communications Workers of America District 4; UFCW Local 75;; Senator Elizabeth Warren; The Franklin County Democratic Party; 29 NE Ohio Democratic Leaders; The Ohio Democratic County Chairs Association; The Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee and the Ohio Democratic Party.

Join Team Ted